如果您的照片在社交媒體上傳播,則任何人都可以下載它們並訪問EXIF數據。 智能手機或數碼相機會自動將有關捕獲照片的時間,位置和設備的詳細信息保存為EXIF(可交換圖像文件格式)。

在Mac上刪除EXIF數據

為了確保您在共享文件和上傳照片時不會浪費時間,您必須刪除一些數據。 Facebook和其他社交媒體網站會自動剪切掉GPS等敏感數據,但最終您將自己暴露在這些服務中。

消費者保護報告向您推薦 在Mac上刪除EXIF數據 你自己。 借助Mac OS X Yosemite中的EXIF清理功能,一切都可以通過眨眼和點頭來完成。

第1部分:如何從文件中查看,編輯和刪除EXIF數據

EXIF數據在Mac上的位置

在macOS上,“照片”應用程序要花更多的功夫,讓您查看和刪除照片中的EXIF數據。 但是,您不能編輯或清除EXIF數據的所有方面。 只需撤銷相機應用對設備GPS坐標的挖掘,即可完全保護您的數字隱私。

  1. 在Mac上,在“預覽”中啟動照片,然後選擇 顯示檢查器 從“工具”菜單中。
  2. 如果文件具有EXIF數據,則標籤為Exif的選項卡會進入視圖。
  3. 在存在位置或地理數據的地方,Preview將其拆分為一個單獨的選項卡,稱為GPS。 它具有一個“刪除位置信息”選項,可以核對這些數據。

此方法會刪除地理數據,但會留下EXIF數據的痕跡,例如曝光設置或您捕獲圖像的時間。 但是,您可以在共享圖像之前使用以下簡單方法擦除該信息。

重新編輯時間並禁用位置

  1. 發射 相片 在Mac上。
  2. 單擊您要編輯的圖像。
  3. 點擊 i 右上角的按鈕。 在這裡,您可以訪問圖像中的EXIF數據,輸入描述或關鍵字。
  4. 要從圖像中刪除GPS坐標,請單擊上方欄中的圖像,然後點擊 地點> 隱藏位置.
  5. 您還可以通過點擊圖像>調整日期和時間來重新編輯文件上的日期或時間。 調整GPS數據,然後選擇 調整.

如何在Mac上刪除EXIF數據

小技巧: :過載的照片庫會佔用系統內存並降低性能。 iMyMac PowerMyMac 確實像它的名字聽起來一樣-它保持了整潔而柔軟的Mac,以達到最佳性能。 使用針對緩存,卸載的程序的痕跡,緩存,大型或過時的文件以及郵件附件而開發的敏銳算法,從計算機中刪除垃圾。

重要的是,它可以檢測 照片副本 和多餘的內容,可在刪除之前為您提供預覽選項。 如果您忽略Mac並允許垃圾佔用了寶貴的空間,則包括啟動文件或傳輸大量項目在內的所有過程都將變得緩慢且不可預測。


第2部分:如何從文件中刪除元數據

第三方工具

免費的應用程序會殲滅EXIF數據,從而使某些用戶必不可少的第三方工具。 強大的元數據刪除工具可同時從多個文件中獲取GPS數據和其他詳細信息。 從照片中刪除位置數據的另一種選擇是使用在線免費服務。 單擊“選擇文件”欄,滾動到並點擊圖像,然後單擊“打開”。 您可以擦除EXIF數據,也可以單擊按鈕查看它。

可下載的應用程序包括所有文件,例如多文件選擇和刪除。 為了對過程進行最佳控制,請利用這些功能。 它們使您可以根據圖像質量來控製文件大小,或者僅刪除元數據而不會影響外觀。

Microsoft文件

Microsoft提供免費的文檔檢查器,用於在共享Office文件之前刪除個人或敏感數據。 Microsoft支持站點提供了大量有關從Word,Excel和PowerPoint中刪除元數據的信息。 轉到他們的網站,並按照適用於您的應用程序版本的指南隱藏大量元數據。

土磚

Adobe徽標

Adobe的幫助站點闡明瞭如何從兩種格式的PDF中刪除元數據 Acrobat X Pro 或Acrobat X Standard。 該網站提供了清晰的分步指南,可使用Acrobat 9中的“檢查文檔”功能刪除文件中的元數據或秘密內容。 您只需要軟件包的特定說明即可完成此技巧。

第3部分:在Mac上刪除EXIF數據的其他替代方法

通過iPhone或iPad定位

iPhone或iPad位置服務設置可以更直接地解決您的隱私問題。 要停用相機的位置服務,請轉到 設置 > 隱私> 地點 服務並關閉相機。 關閉這些設備的說明因型號而異。 在某些Android設備上,相機應用程序包括預安裝的GPS設置。

拍攝截圖

在共享照片之前刪除數據的最簡單技術之一是捕獲圖像的屏幕截圖,然後進行分發。 屏幕截圖不包含相機保留的敏感元數據的類型。

電子郵件元數據

電子郵件元數據像拇指酸痛一樣突出,但是幾乎不可能刪除。 只需轉到Gmail郵件中的標題信息,然後訪問郵件中嵌入的元數據即可。 如果沒有計算專業知識,解密元數據可能會很困難。 不幸的是,您的雙手被綁住了,您無法實質性地操縱電子郵件中附帶的元數據。

您只能禁用位置服務或從附加到郵件的文件中刪除EXIF。 與社交網站不同,電子郵件或云存儲服務(例如Dropbox)在上傳文件時不會清除EXIF。

最後的思考

照片可以包含隱藏的數據,例如時間和確切的GPS坐標。 當您用數碼相機和手機拍攝圖像時,EXIF可能隨文件一起在全球範圍內傳播。 值得慶幸的是,最常用的照片共享平台Instagram和Facebook減少了敏感信息。

對於Mac用戶,您可以通過預覽並從工具菜單中選擇檢查器來清除EXIF數據。 使用EXIF刪除工具,您可以一次擦除多個文件中的元數據。 單擊按鈕,您可以清除設備或照片編輯軟件嵌入的一批圖像中的相機,位置或其他技術數據。

我們幫助Mac用戶和其他讀者利用技術,而不是相反。 本文對您有幫助還是啟發? 請在下面告訴我們。

If your photos circulate on social media, anyone can download them and access EXIF data. Details about time, location, and device used to capture a photo are saved automatically by a Smartphone or digital camera as EXIF (Exchangeable Image File Format).

Remove EXIF Data on Mac

To ensure you don’t spill the beans when sharing files and uploading photos, you’ve to excise some of the data. Facebook and other social media sites automatically cut out sensitive data such as GPS but you end up exposing yourself to these services.

Consumer protection reports recommend you remove EXIF data on Mac yourself. With EXIF-scrubbing capabilities in Mac OS X Yosemite, everything can be done by a wink and a nod.

Part 1: How to View, Edit, and Remove EXIF Data from Your Files

Location of EXIF Data on Mac

On macOS, the Photos app goes the extra mile to let you view and erase EXIF data from your photos. However, you cannot edit or wipe out all aspects of EXIF data. Simply revoke the camera app’s mining of device’s GPS coordinates to safeguard your digital privacy entirely.

  1. On your Mac, launch a photo in Preview and choose Show Inspector from the Tools menu.
  2. If a file has EXIF data, a tab labeled Exif thrusts into view.
  3. Where location or geo-data exists, Preview splits it off into a separate tab known as GPS. It has a Remove Location Info option to nuke these pieces of data.

This method erases geo-data but leaves traces of EXIF data such as exposure settings or time you captured the image. However, you can wipe away that information with foolproof methods below before sharing an image.

Re-Edit Time & Disable Location

  1. Launch Photos on Mac.
  2. Click the image you wish to edit.
  3. Click the i button on your upper right. Here you can access EXIF data in the image, enter a description or keywords.
  4. To remove the GPS coordinates from an image, click Image in the upper bar and then tapping Location> Hide Location.
  5. You can also re-edit the date or time on the file by hitting Image> Adjust date and time. Tweak GPS data and then choose Adjust.

How to Remove EXIF Data on Mac

Tip: An overloaded Photo Library will hog down system memory and slow down performance. iMyMac PowerMyMac does exactly as its name sounds-it maintains a neat and nippy Mac for peak performance. Strip the junk from your computer with incisive algorithms developed for caches, traces of uninstalled programs, caches, large or obsolete files, and Mail attachments.

Importantly, it detects photo duplicates and redundant content giving you a preview option before erasing. If you neglect your Mac and allow junk to usurp precious slots of space, all processes including launching a file or transferring mass items become sluggish and unpredictable.


Part 2: How to Delete Metadata from Your Files

Third-Party Tools

Free apps annihilate EXIF data completely making third-party tool indispensable for some users. Powerful metadata-removal tools expurgate GPS data and other details from multiple files simultaneously. Another option for eliminating location data from photos is to use an online free service. Click on the Choose File bar, scroll to and tap an image, and then click Open. You can either erase the EXIF data or view it in a click of a button.

Downloadable apps include all bells and whistles such as multi-file selection and deletion. For optimum control over the process, capitalize on these features. They allow you to manipulate file size at the behest of image quality or simply excise metadata without distorting appearance.

Microsoft Documents

Microsoft provides the free Document Inspector for nuking personal or sensitive data before you share an Office file. The Microsoft Support site has a wealth of information on deleting metadata from Word, Excel and PowerPoint. Go to their site and follow guidelines for your app version to hide troves of metadata.

Adobe

Adobe Logo

Adobe’s Help site sheds light on how to remove metadata from your PDFs in either Acrobat X Pro or Acrobat X Standard. The site provides a clear step-by-step guide for expunging metadata or surreptitious content from files with the Examine Document feature in Acrobat 9. You’ll only need specific instructions for your software package to pull off this trick.

Part 3: Other Alternatives to Remove EXIF Data on Mac

Location from iPhone or iPad

iPhone or iPad location services settings resolve your privacy woes more straightforwardly. To deactivate location services for the camera, go to Settings > Privacy> Location services and turn off Camera. Instructions to toggle off these devices vary with the model. On some Androids, camera apps include pre-installed GPS setting.

Take a Screenshot

One of the easiest techniques to remove data before sharing a photo is to capture a screenshot of the image and disseminate that instead. Screenshots don’t include the type of sensitive metadata retained by a camera.

Email Metadata

Email metadata sticks out like a sore thumb but deleting is almost impossible. Just go to header information in Gmail message and access metadata embedded to your mail. Without computing knowhow, deciphering the metadata can be challenging. Unfortunately, your hands are tied and you cannot substantially manipulate the metadata attached to your email.

You can only disable location services or remove EXIF from the files you attach to messages. Unlike social networking sites, email or cloud storage services such as Dropbox do not wipe away EXIF when you upload files.

Final Thoughts

Photos can incorporate hidden pieces of data such as time and the exact GPS coordinates. When you capture an image with a digital camera and a phone, EXIF may travel with the file in a split second across the globe. Thankfully, Instagram and Facebook, the most frequently used photo-sharing platforms whittle down-sensitive strands of information.

For Mac users, you can obliterate EXIF data by previewing and selecting inspector from the tools menu. EXIF-removal tools allow you to wipe out metadata from multiple files at once. With the click of a button, you can purge the camera, location or other technical data from a batch of images embedded by the device or the photo-editing software.

We help Mac users and other readers to take advantage of technology, not vice versa. Was this article helpful or inspiring? Tell us below.