您想確保您的文件安全嗎? 然後,您就會想到備份數據。 Apple和其他公司正在向其用戶推廣基於雲的存儲。 雖然您可以選擇雲存儲,但您可能仍希望使用傳統方法 備份您的Mac 數據 到外部硬盤.

建議您為數據進行多次備份。 例如,您可以使用基於雲的服務和外部驅動器(SSD或HDD)來擁有兩個不同的備份位置。 一個是在線,而後一個是物理類型的存儲。 外部硬盤驅動器允許您存儲,共享甚至保護數據,而無需支付年度基於雲的服務費。

在本文中,我們將向您展示如何操作 將Mac備份到外部硬盤驅動器。 我們將通過整理一些最好的軟件來完成這篇文章,以幫助您備份或克隆我們的數據。 讓我們開始吧。

備份Mac與時間機器

如何使用Time Machine將Mac備份到外部硬盤驅動器

在將Mac備份到外部硬盤驅動器之前,必須確保驅動器格式正確。 然後,使用Time Machine備份數據。 下面,您將找到備份Mac的兩個部分。 第一部分涉及格式化驅動器,而第二部分涉及實際的數據備份。

01的02部分:如何格式化您的驅動器以備後用

如果您要使用外部SSD或外部HDD備份數據,則必須首先為macOS格式化這些驅動器。 但有一些例外。 但是,大多數外部驅動器未針對Mac計算機進行格式化。 好的是,這個過程實際上很簡單。 以下是如何逐步完成的:

步驟01:將外部驅動器連接到Mac計算機。

最好將“新”外部硬盤連接到計算機。 如果您使用舊的舊驅動器,則可能很複雜。 格式化舊驅動器時,其中包含的所有數據都將被刪除。 因此,如果您有舊硬盤驅動器,則可能需要先將文件移動到其他位置 在重新格式化之前 它。

步驟02:打開磁盤工具。

這位於 Applications> Utilities文件夾。 可以通過Dock訪問Applications文件夾。

步驟03:找到要重新格式化的外部驅動器。

磁盤工具將列出Mac中的所有捲和驅動器。 因此,請確保選擇實際的外部硬盤驅動器,否則最終可能會刪除錯誤的硬盤驅動器上的數據。

步驟04:擦除或刪除驅動器的所有內容。

在“磁盤工具”窗口中,選擇“擦除”。 然後確認該過程。 之後重命名外部驅動器。 你可以用它來命名 “Mac電腦備份” 或者你想要的任何東西。 確保使用可用於輕鬆識別外部驅動器內容的名稱。

步驟05:選擇外部驅動器的各種設置。

現在,該工具將要求您選擇新格式。 選項包括但不限於以下內容:

  • 擴展(日記,加密)
  • 擴展(日記)
  • 擴展(區分大小寫,日記)

Extended(Journaled,Encrypted)格式允許您為外部驅動器添加加密和密碼。 Extended(Journaled)類型使用Journaled HFS Plus來組織您的數據。 最後,區分大小寫格式允許您區分具有不同字母大小寫的文件夾。 例如, “十一月” - “十一月” 是兩個不同的文件夾,並保持分開。 選擇最適合您需求的選項。

步驟06:轉到安全選項。

選擇安全選項。 確保驅動器將至少三次寫入先前數據(3x)。 這是真的 SATA驅動器 而不是固態硬盤。

步驟07:刪除數據,然後確認該過程。

現在,您應該刪除數據並確認該過程。 整個活動完成後,您的驅動器將以一種使其與Mac OS兼容的方式重新格式化。 現在,下一部分涉及使用Time Machine將Mac備份到外部硬盤驅動器。 轉到下一部分。

將Mac數據備份到外部硬盤驅動器

02的02部分:使用Time Machine備份Mac到外部硬盤驅動器

Time Machine是Mac計算機中的內置工具,可讓您備份Mac。 您可以擁有備份 自動安排。 如果您希望將Mac連續備份到外部硬盤驅動器,Time Machine一旦設置就可以輕鬆完成。 以下是如何以分步方式啟用Time Machine:

步驟01:啟動Time Machine並確保其已打開。

去你的碼頭,然後訪問 系統偏好設定。 在此之後,打開你的Time Machine。 在Time Machine的左側,您可以找到一個大開關。 您可以打開或關閉此開關。 現在,在此步驟中,您必須打開它。

步驟02:選擇外部驅動器。

根據標籤 選擇磁盤,您應該選擇備份數據的外部驅動器。 如果您已按照上述步驟對其進行了格式化,則不應遇到任何問題。 雖然,如果您已加密外部驅動器,只需輸入您之前創建的密碼即可。

步驟03:選擇您的選項。

在“選項”按鈕下方,您可以選擇要備份的捲(文件或數據)。 如果您希望保存Mac計算機上的所有數據,這會派上用場。 如果你認為,一切都很好,那麼,你可以繼續前進 備份文件.

Time Machine將自動備份您的數據。 您甚至可以檢索過去24小時的數據,尤其是遇到錯誤時。 您甚至可以恢復過去一周或過去一個月的數據,具體取決於Time Machine的啟動位置。

如何有選擇地將Mac數據備份到外部硬盤驅動器(手動方法)

如果你想備份 “某些”文件 只有,你可以這樣做。 以下是有選擇地將Mac計算機中的數據備份到外部硬盤的步驟:

在Mac上啟動Finder

步驟01:啟動Finder。

Finder窗口可以在Dock中找到。 打開後,檢查Finder窗口的左側。 仔細檢查外部磁盤驅動器是否確實存在。 如果是,您應該在側邊欄中看到它的名字。

通常,如果外部驅動器格式正確,它將顯示在Finder中。 但是,如果未在Finder窗口中顯示,只需轉到“首選項”和 選擇補充工具欄。 在補充工具欄部分,您可以調整要在側欄中顯示的內容。 確保已設置外部驅動器,以便顯示在Finder的側欄中。

步驟02:製作您想要的文件夾。

如果您的文件已經在文件夾中組織,則可以跳過此步驟。 但是,如果它們分散在你的Mac周圍,你可以 去找Finder 並為您的文件創建適當的文件夾。 通過這種方式,它們在外部驅動器內組織。

步驟03:將文件夾轉移到外部硬盤驅動器。

拖動文件夾,然後將其拖放到Finder側欄中的外部驅動器。 它們將自動複製到您的硬盤驅動器。 如果要搜索特定文件,請使用 Finder的搜索 功能位於界面的右上角。

幫助您將Mac備份到外置硬盤的頂級軟件

在本節中,我們收集了可用於將整個Mac備份到外部硬盤的頂級軟件。 我們將從明顯的贏家Time Machine開始。 然後,我們將在稍後深入研究其他選項。

時光機(免費)

Time Machine內置於Mac電腦的操作系統中,非常易於組織和使用。 一旦你設置它就會在後台自動運行,你不必一直創建備份,因為它是24 / 7。

該工具用於將文件備份到外部驅動器(或任何外部存儲設備),以便您可以在以後需要時將其還原。 你也可以 使用Time Machine 看看你以前的文件是怎樣的。

由於備份是自動創建的,因此只會在出現問題時丟失很少的數據(甚至不會丟失)。 此外,通過該工具還可以輕鬆恢復這些數據。 設置工具後,它會每小時,每天甚至每周備份一次。 有大量的冗餘。 但如果發生災難,它可以派上用場。

碳複製克隆

碳複製克隆(付費)

它是一個很棒的備份工具,具有復雜的界面。 但是,它提供了一個 “簡單模式” 對於初學者。 簡單的界面可以幫助您通過三次簡單的點擊來備份數據。 它使用傳統方法通過製作Mac硬盤驅動器的相同克隆來備份文件。

Carbon Copy Cloner是一款出色的軟件,可以創建實際鏡像Mac內部驅動器的可啟動驅動器。 您只需更新已修改或添加的文件即可。 發生錯誤時,您可以使用Carbon Copy Cleaner備份來啟動Mac並使其正常工作。 然後,您只需將文件還原到新購買的驅動器上即可。

Time Machine適用於恢復丟失的數據或出錯的數據。 Carbon Copy Cloner軟件是一個可以用來補充的應用程序 恢復“整個”驅動器。 當您因故障而必須實際更換SSD或HDD時,這可能會有所幫助。 或者,當您購買新的Mac電腦時,它可以派上用場。

由於備份實際上是Mac主驅動器的相同副本,因此您可以使用此備份重新啟動計算機,然後它將啟動並運行。 就這麼簡單。 正如您所看到的,我們的前兩個選項是補充工具,可以幫助您在發生故障時完整備份數據。

SuperDuper! (免費/付費)

這是Carbon Copy Cloner的替代品。 關於它的好處是它比數字2上的那個更簡單。 很多SuperDuper! 功能是免費的。 但是,完整的應用程序已付款。 它有一個易於使用的界面。 只需選擇要備份的驅動器,然後選擇要存儲它的外部驅動器。

在此之後,您只需選擇備份類型。 與Carbon Copy Cleaner,SuperDuper相似! 允許您創建可啟動的備份。 如果您對數據進行了修改或添加,也可以更新此備份。

下載ChronoSync

ChronoSync(免費試用/付費)

ChronoSync是一個多方面的軟件,可以做很多事情。 它可用於備份數據,製作Mac硬盤的可啟動克隆,以及 在不同計算機之間同步文件。 恢復通過ChronoSync備份的文件非常容易。 這類似於在Finder中搜索文件然後復制它。

使用ChronoSync,可以進行調度備份。 或者,如果您願意,只需在將硬盤插入Mac時備份文件即可。 它可以通過對您的整個數據進行修改和添加來更新以前的備份。

把它全部包起來

將Mac備份到外部硬盤很容易。 您可以使用內置工具執行此操作,也可以為第三方應用程序付費。 我們建議您同時執行這兩項操作。 您可以使用Time Machine進行定期自動備份,以防文件丟失。 然後,您可以使用Carbon Copy Cloner作為可啟動的備份驅動器,以防發生災難。

您需要了解的有關創建備份的一件事是確保您擁有多個數據副本。 因此,除了使用Time Machine將數據備份到外部硬盤驅動器之外,您還可以使用基於雲的服務來存儲數據。 基於雲的服務包括Apple的iCloud,Dropbox和Google Drive。 這個選擇由你。 我們希望我們幫助您將Mac上的數據備份到外部硬盤驅動器或固態驅動器。

Do you want to make sure your files are kept safe? Then, backing up your data has come across your mind. Apple and other companies are pushing Cloud-based storage to its users. Although you can opt for Cloud storage, you might still want to use the traditional method to back up your Mac data to an external hard drive.

It is recommended that you have multiple backups for your data. For instance, you can use a Cloud-based service AND an external drive (SSD or HDD) to have two different backup locations. One would be online, while the latter is a physical type of storage. External hard drives allow you to store, share, and even protect data without the need to pay for annual cloud-based service fees.

In this article, we’ll show you how to back up your Mac to an external hard drive. We’ll finish the article by rounding up some of the best software to help you back up or clone our data. Let’s get started.

Back Up Mac With Time Machine

How To Back Up Mac To An External Hard Drive Using Time Machine

Before you back up your Mac to an external hard drive, you have to make sure your drive is formatted properly. Then, you use Time Machine to back up your data. Below, you will find two parts to backing up your Mac. The first part involves formatting your drive, while the second part involves the actual backing up of data.

Part 01 of 02: How To Format Your Drive For Backup Use Later On

If you’re going to back up your data using an external SSD or external HDD, you must begin by formatting these drives for the macOS. There are a few exceptions though. However, most external drives are not formatted for Mac computers. The good thing is, the process is actually simple. Here’s how to do it step-by-step:

Step 01: Connect the external drive to the Mac computer.

It is best to connect a “new” external hard drive to your computer. If you use an old, used drive, it can be complicated. When you format an old drive, all data contained in it will be erased. Thus, if you have an old hard drive, you might want to move the files to another location first before re-formatting it.

Step 02: Open Disk Utility.

This is located in the Applications > Utilities folder. The Applications folder can be accessed through the Dock.

Step 03: Locate the external drive you wish to reformat.

The Disk Utility will list all volumes and drives in your Mac. Thus, make sure you choose the actual external hard drive or you might end up erasing data on the wrong one.

Step 04: Erase or remove all contents of the drive.

Within the window for Disk Utility, select Erase. Then confirm the process. Rename the external drive afterward. You can name it with “Mac Computer Backup” or anything you’d like. Make sure to use a name which you can use to easily identify the contents of your external drive.

Step 05: Select various settings for your external drive.

Now, the tool will ask you to choose a new format. The options include, but are not limited to the following:

  • Extended (Journaled, Encrypted)
  • Extended (Journaled)
  • Extended (Case Sensitive, Journaled)

The Extended (Journaled, Encrypted) format allows you to add encryption and a password to your external drive. The Extended (Journaled) type utilizes Journaled HFS Plus in order to organize your data. Finally, the Case Sensitive format allows you to differentiate between folders with the different case for letters. For instance, “November” and “november” are two different folders and are kept separated. Choose the best option that suits your needs.

Step 06: Go to Security Options.

Select Security Options. Ensure that the drive will write over previous data for a minimum of three times (3x). This is true for SATA drives and not solid-state drives.

Step 07: Remove data and then confirm the process.

Now, you should erase the data and confirm the process. After the entire activity is complete, your drive will be reformatted in a way that makes it compatible for Mac OS. Now, the next part involves backing up your Mac to an external hard drive using Time Machine. Hop on to the next section.

Back Up Mac Data To External Hard Drive

Part 02 of 02: Back Up Mac To External Hard Drive Using Time Machine

Time Machine is a built-in tool within Mac computers that enables you to back your Mac up. You can have backups that are automatically scheduled. If you wish to back up your Mac continuously to your external hard drive, Time Machine makes it effortless on your part once set up. Here’s how to enable Time Machine in a step-by-step fashion:

Step 01: Launch Time Machine and ensure it is switched on.

Go to your Dock and then visit System Preferences. After this, open your Time Machine. Within the left-hand side of the Time Machine, you can find a big switch. You can turn this switch on or off. Now, in this step, you have to turn it on.

Step 02: Select your external drive.

Under the label Select Disk, you should choose the external drive where data will be backed up. If you have formatted it according to the steps above, you shouldn’t encounter any problem. Although, if you have encrypted the external drive, simply enter the password you created earlier.

Step 03: Choose your options.

Below the Options button, you can select the volumes (of files or data) you wish to back up. This comes in handy if you wish to save every data you have on the Mac computer. If you think, everything is okay, then, you can go ahead and back up the files.

Time Machine will automatically back your data up. You can even retrieve data from the past 24 hours especially if you encounter an error. You can even restore data from the past week or the past month, depending on where Time Machine started.

How To Selectively Back Up Mac Data Onto An External Hard Drive (Manual Method)

If you wish to back up “certain” files only, you can do so. Here are the steps on selectively backing up data within your Mac computer to an external hard drive:

Launch Finder On Mac

Step 01: Launch Finder.

The Finder window can be found within the Dock. Once open, check the left side of the Finder window. Double check if the external disk drive is actually there. If it is, you should see its name within the sidebar.

Usually, if the external drive is formatted correctly, it will show up within Finder. However, if it isn't displayed within the Finder window, simply go to Preferences and choose Sidebar. In the Sidebar section, you can make adjustments as to what you want to appear within the sidebar. Ensure that your external drive is set up in order to appear within Finder’s sidebar.

Step 02: Make your desired folders.

If your files are already organized in folders, you can just skip this step. But, if they’re scattered all around your Mac, you can go to Finder and create appropriate folders for your files. In this way, they’re organized inside the external drive.

Step 03: Transfer the folders towards the external hard drive.

Drag the folders and then drop them to the external drive located in the sidebar of Finder. They will be copied automatically to your hard drive. If you want to search for a specific file, use Finder’s search function located in the upper-right corner of the interface.

Top Software To Help Back Up Your Mac To External Hard Drives

In this section, we’ve gathered the top software you can use to back up the entire Mac to an external hard drive. We will start off with the obvious winner, Time Machine. Then, we’ll delve into other options later on.

Time Machine (Free)

Time Machine is built-into the operating system of Mac computers and is very easy to organize and use. It works automatically in the background once you set it up and you don’t have to create backups all the time because it does it 24/7.

The said tool is used to back up files to an external drive (or any external storage device) so you can just restore them later when you need them. You can also use Time Machine to see how your files looked like previously.

Since backups are created automatically, you will only lose little data (or even nothing) when a problem occurs. Plus, restoring these data is made easy through the tool as well. Once the tool is set up, it keeps hourly, daily, and even weekly backups. There’s a huge amount of redundancy. But it can come in handy if a disaster happens.

Carbon Copy Cloner

Carbon Copy Cloner (Paid)

It is a great backup tool with a complicated interface. However, it offers a “Simple Mode” for beginners. The simple interface can help you back up your data in three simple clicks. It uses the traditional method of backing files up by making an identical clone of the Mac hard drive.

Carbon Copy Cloner is a great software that creates bootable drives that actually mirrors the internal drive of your Mac. You simply update files that were modified or added. When an error occurs, you can use the Carbon Copy Cleaner back up to start your Mac up and make it work like it normally should. Then, you can simply restore the files onto your newly purchased drive.

The Time Machine is good for restoring data that have been lost or data that have gone wrong. The software Carbon Copy Cloner is a complementary application that can be used to restore “entire” drives. This can be helpful when you have to actually replace your SSD or HDD because of failure. Or, it can come in handy when you’ve purchased a new Mac computer.

Since the backup is actually an identical copy of your Mac’s main drive, you can simply reboot the computer using this backup and it will be up and working afterward. It’s as simple as that. As you can see our top two options are complementary tools that can help you have a complete back up of your data in case trouble happens.

SuperDuper! (Free/ Paid)

This is an alternative to that of the Carbon Copy Cloner. The great thing about it is it’s simpler to use compared to the one on number 2. A lot of SuperDuper! Features are free. However, the full app is paid. It has an interface that is easy to use. Simply select the drive you wish to back up and then choose the external drive where you want to store it too.

After this, you simply choose the backup type. Similar to Carbon Copy Cleaner, SuperDuper! allows you to create a bootable backup. You can also update this backup if you have made modifications or additions to your data.

Download ChronoSync

ChronoSync (Free Trial/ Paid)

ChronoSync is a multifaceted software that can do a lot of things. It can be used to backup data, make bootable clones of your Mac’s hard drive, and sync files among different computers. It’s very easy to restore files that have been backed up through ChronoSync. This is similar to searching for the file within Finder and then copying it.

With ChronoSync, scheduling backups are possible. Or, if you prefer it, you can simply backup files when you plug your hard drive to your Mac. It can update your previous backup with modifications and additions you have made to your entire data too.

To Wrap It All Up

Backing up your Mac to an external hard drive is easy. You can do it with built-in tools or you can pay for third-party applications. We’ll recommend that you do both. You can use Time Machine to have regular, automatic backups in case files get lost. And then, you can use Carbon Copy Cloner for a bootable backup drive in case disaster strikes.

One thing you need to know about creating backups is to make sure you have multiple copies of your data. So, aside from backing up your data using Time Machine to an external hard drive, you can use Cloud-based services to store your data as well. Cloud-based services include Apple’s iCloud, Dropbox, and Google Drive. The choice is up to you. We hope that we’ve helped you back up your data on Mac to an external hard disk drive or solid state drive.