即便在今天,Mac還是有限的硬盤驅動器可以快速充滿,特別是如果你有很多文件。 幸運的是,有簡單快捷的選項 如何在Mac上騰出空間 釋放硬盤空間。

從本質上講,您可以通過刪除已下載的文件或其他對象來釋放Mac上的空間,但這通常是不夠的。 通過處理重複文件,語言文件,附件,臨時文件或清空廢紙簍等更深層次的元素,Mac上大部分浪費的空間將被收回。

如果您無法保持Mac硬盤的清潔,最終可能會出現“您的磁盤幾乎已滿”的錯誤。 建議立即開始清理一些空間。

提示:

部分1。 Mac上的存儲簡介

1。 “您的啟動磁盤已滿”是什麼意思?

啟動磁盤是包含可用操作系統的驅動器的分區或卷。 Mac的硬盤驅動器由磁盤或分區組成。 在每個磁盤或分區中,它包含諸如操作系統,應用程序等數據。 大多數Mac用戶只有一個磁盤,但有些可能有兩個或更多。

如果Mac包含兩個磁盤,則存儲在它們之間分開。 包含操作系統的Mac驅動器是啟動盤,而另一個用作文件存儲。 從本質上講,它可能有幾個啟動盤,但大多數Mac只有一個。

2。 啟動盤已滿的原因是什麼?

一般來說,沒有足夠的空間了。 啟動盤接近滿負荷,這是有害的。

硬盤不得超過其容量的85%,尤其是啟動盤,因為它可能導致遲緩,並最終導致長期錯誤。

如果啟動盤卡滿了,並且您收到了設備的通知,則表明您必須立即釋放存儲空間是一個嚴重的跡象。

3。 如何找出正在佔用啟動磁盤空間的內容

您可以通過Apple菜單中的“關於本機”並切換到“存儲”部分來檢查存儲使用情況。

通常,存儲在啟動盤上的6數據類別。 如果條形圖很大,則表示這些類型的文件佔用的空間量,即 - 電影,應用程序,音頻,文檔,備份和其他。

由於可用磁盤空間有限,一旦“啟動磁盤已滿”消息在屏幕上閃爍,最初的步驟是清除Mac中任何不必要的文件。 一旦確定了佔用磁盤空間的內容,就可以檢查文件夾並選擇要刪除的任何不必要的文件。

圖片,電影或備份通常佔用大部分空間。 但在某些情況下,“其他”文件佔用的空間最大,包括日誌,緩存,存檔,cookie,插件,磁盤映像,擴展等。

部分2。 如何在Mac上騰出空間的快速技巧

一種有效的方式 如何在Mac上騰出空間 是使用 iMyMac PowerMyMac。 使用此工具,它可以有效地清理和優化您的Mac。 該工具可以在單個應用程序中為您提供各種功能。

由於您想要清理Mac上的空間,我們將專注於iMyMac PowerMyMac的清潔模塊。 在此模塊中,您可以清除不需要的系統文件,照片緩存,電子郵件下載和附件,類似照片,iTunes備份和安裝包以及過時或大型文件。 使用此選擇功能,您不再需要擔心錯誤地刪除其他基本文件。

您可以使用PowerMyMac清潔模塊中的任何工具。 讓我們仔細看看使用System Junk工具時的步驟。

1。 檢查Mac的狀態。 打開程序並評估主界面上的系統狀態。 狀態
2。 點擊“清潔”按鈕,你會看到“系統垃圾” 清潔
3。 點擊“System Junk”並開始掃描Mac上的系統緩存,應用程序緩存和其他相關的垃圾箱。 掃描進度可以在左側圓圈中看到。 系統垃圾掃描
4。 掃描完成後,您可以查看結果。 系統垃圾掃描完成
5。 此時,選擇要刪除的系統文件。 系統垃圾應用程序緩存
6。 點擊“清除”按鈕以清除Mac上的系統垃圾文件。 在某些情況下,需要輸入密碼。
系統垃圾系統日誌刪除
7。 點擊“清潔”後點擊“確認”。 只需等待清潔過程完成。

系統垃圾系統日誌刪除

從設備中刪除任何系統垃圾文件是一個快速而簡單的過程。 請記住,相同的步驟適用於PowerMyMac清潔模塊中的其他工具。

除了其他方法 如何在Mac上騰出空間,使用iMyMac PowerMyMac是一種有效的方法。 只需點擊幾下鼠標和簡單的步驟,您就可以輕鬆地釋放設備上的空間。

部分3。 關於如何在Mac上騰出空間的更多措施

如果要避免“啟動磁盤已滿”消息,可以使用方法 如何在Mac上騰出空間 你應該熟悉的。

1。 清空垃圾

一個簡單的方法 如何在Mac上騰出空間 只是清空設備上的垃圾桶。 當您刪除文件時,它們會被發送到“廢紙簍”,因此您可以選擇稍後恢復它們,以防您改變主意。

您可以通過清空廢紙簍來完全刪除這些文件以釋放空間。 在某些Mac中,它們有幾個垃圾桶,因此您必須清空其中的幾個。

在清空帳戶中的主垃圾箱時,只需單擊CTRL +單擊或右鍵單擊停靠欄右下角的“廢紙簍”圖標,然後選擇“清空廢紙簍”選項。 這將刪除您從Finder發送到垃圾箱的所有文件。

iMovie,iPhoto和Mail都有各自的垃圾桶。 如果您從這些應用程序中刪除了媒體文件,則可以清空它們的垃圾桶。

2。 刪除未使用的應用

Mac上的應用程序也佔用空間。 必須刪除不再使用的任何應用程序以釋放空間。

只需打開Finder窗口,在側欄中選擇要刪除的應用程序,然後將應用程序的圖標拖放到Dock上的“廢紙簍”中。 請記住,一些未使用的應用程序可能佔用了大量寶貴的空間。

如果要檢查哪些應用程序佔用了Mac上的大部分空間,請打開Finder窗口並選擇“應用程序”。 點擊工具欄上的“在列表中顯示項目”圖標,然後單擊“大小”標題,該標題將根據其大小對已安裝的應用程序進行排序。

3。 擺脫舊的iOS備份

iOS的備份可能會佔用大量空間。 如果要查找並刪除它們,請按照下列步驟操作:

  • 打開Finder
  • 點擊菜單中的“開始”,然後選擇“轉到文件夾...”
  • 鍵入〜/ Library / Application Support / MobileSync / Backup /

這將刪除Mac上已佔用寶貴磁盤空間的所有舊的,過時的備份。

4。 刪除舊的iTunes資料庫備份

每次更新iTunes時,最新版本的應用程序都會創建庫的備份。 您可以使用以下步驟刪除這些舊的iTunes資料庫備份:

  • 打開Finder
  • 點擊屏幕左上方菜單中的“開始”。
  • 選擇“轉到文件夾”並鍵入〜/ Music / iTunes / Previous iTunes Libraries

請記住,它們都已過時,只需刪除不再需要的舊版本。

5。 清理緩存

緩存文件是由瀏覽器,應用程序和其他程序創建的臨時數據文件,以使Mac更快地運行。 刪除緩存文件時,將在下次使用應用程序時重新創建緩存文件。 然而,一些你不再使用的應用程序仍然在Cache文件夾中有剩餘部分,佔用了大量空間。 建議不時清除緩存。

緩存文件通常存儲在Library文件夾中,您可以在以下位置找到它們:

  • /圖書館/緩存
  • 〜/庫/緩存

在/ Library / Caches中,您可以找到系統創建的臨時文件。 通常,這些文件不會佔用大量空間。 但是,在〜/ Library / Caches文件夾中,使用應用程序時會創建許多垃圾文件。 因此,此文件夾的大小會隨著時間的推移而增加。

如果要訪問這些文件,只需打開Finder窗口即可。 單擊菜單上的“轉到”>“轉到文件夾”。 在對話框中鍵入~Library / Cache,然後單擊Go。

6。 擺脫日誌

打開Library文件夾後,您還會找到另一種類型的臨時文件 - 日誌文件。 這些文件存儲在Logs文件夾中。 只需確保在刪除系統,移動設備和應用程序的日誌之前,您不再需要它們。

7。 刪除郵件下載

如果您使用的是標準macOS Mail應用程序,則每次查看電子郵件附件時,系統都會將其保存到硬盤驅動器上的單獨文件夾中。 從長遠來看,此文件夾的大小可以增加到幾GB。

查找此文件夾的最簡單方法是使用Spotlight搜索它。 只需在搜索字段中鍵入“郵件下載”即可。 如果此方法無效,另一種方法是打開Finder>點擊Shift + CMD + G鍵快捷鍵並在搜索字段中鍵入〜/ Library / Containers / com.apple.mail / Data / Library / Mail。 打開後,檢查文件並保存所需文件或將其全部刪除。

8。 刪除重複文件

隨著時間的推移,您可能已經創建了兩次文檔副本或下載文件並忘記了它們。 實質上,重複文件可佔用Mac上的磁盤空間。 手動搜索重複文件可能是一個漫長而繁瑣的過程。

您可以通過以下步驟在iTunes資料庫中輕鬆找到重複的媒體文件:

  • 打開iTunes
  • 點擊菜單中的文件
  • 選擇“庫”>“顯示重複項”

iTunes將為您提供重複列表。 您可以查看列表並刪除任何重複項。

遺憾的是,對於其他重複文件,您需要單獨檢查每個文件夾,這可能需要很長時間。

9。 關閉在後台運行的應用

關閉已打開數天或更長時間的應用程序或定期重新啟動Mac可以幫助釋放磁盤空間。

請務必注意,應用程序會創建臨時文件來存儲數據。 如果這些應用程序在不關閉它們的情況下運行,這些文件將繼續增長。 關閉應用程序後,將刪除緩存文件並恢復磁盤空間。

10。 清理照片庫

在佔用寶貴的磁盤空間時,照片一直是罪魁禍首。 最初的舉動 如何在Mac上騰出空間 是只選擇你想要消除的那些,例如重複或那些被誤刪的。

處理完您自己的文件後,下一步就是刪除系統創建的文件。 在Photos for Mac中,它是緩存文件。 照片緩存文件還包括iCloud本地副本,Faces緩存和其他與應用程序相關的緩存。 您可能會對這些佔用的空間感到驚訝,特別是如果您經常使用照片。 如果您使用的是macOS Sierra之前的OS版本,以下是查找緩存的步驟:

  • 打開Finder並轉到照片庫
  • CTRL +單擊照片庫並選擇“顯示包內容”選項。
  • 訪問資源並單擊模型資源

此時,您將在Finder中看到幾個文件夾。 照片的緩存通常存在於這些文件夾中,但要弄清楚哪些文件可以安全刪除以及保留什麼內容可能很棘手。 請記住,如果刪除錯誤的文件,可能會破壞Photos的整體性能。

Even today, Mac has a limited hard drive that can become full quickly, especially if you have a lot of files. Fortunately, there are simple and quick options on how to make room on Mac to free up space on your hard drive.

Essentially, you can free up space on your Mac by deleting files or other objects that you have downloaded, but it is usually not enough. Most of the wasted space on your Mac is going to be reclaimed by dealing with the deeper elements such as duplicate files, language files, attachments, temporary files or emptying the Trash.

In case you cannot keep the hard drive of your Mac clean, you might end up with the “Your disk is almost full” error. It is recommended to start clearing up some space - now.

Tips:

Part 1. Brief Introduction to Storage on Mac

1. What is the meaning of "Your Startup Disk is Full" error?

The startup disk is a partition or volume of a drive that includes a usable operating system. The hard drive of Mac is comprised of disks or partitions. In every disk or partition, it contains data such as the operating system, applications and many more. Majority of Mac users only have one disk but some might have two or more.

If a Mac contains two disks, storage is separated between them. The Mac drive that contains the OS is the startup disk while the other is utilized as storage for files. Essentially, it is likely to have several startup disks but the majority of Macs only have one.

2. What is the reason why the startup disk is full?

Generally, there is not enough space anymore. The startup disk is near its full capacity and this is detrimental.

The hard disk must not go beyond 85% of its capacity, especially the startup disk since it can lead to sluggishness and eventually errors in the long run.

In case the startup disk is jam-packed and you receive a notice from your device, it is a serious sign that you must free up storage space right away.

3. How to find out what is eating up space on your startup disk

You can check the storage usage by going to the “About This Mac” in the Apple menu and switching to the Storage section.

Generally, there are 6 categories of data that are stored on the Startup Disk. If the bar is large, it indicates the amount of space taken up by those types of files, namely – Movies, Apps, Audios, Documents, Backups and Other.

Once the “Startup Disk Full” message flashes on your screen due to limited free disk space, the initial move is to clean up your Mac of any unnecessary files. Once you have determined what is eating up your disk space, you can examine your folders and pick out any unnecessary files to be removed.

Pictures, Movies or Backups typically use up most space. In some cases, though, the “Other” files take up the biggest space which includes logs, caches, archives, cookies, plugins, disk images, extensions and more.

Part 2. A Quick Trick on How to Make Room on Mac

An effective way on how to make room on Mac is to use iMyMac PowerMyMac. With this tool, it can effectively clean up and optimize your Mac. The tool can provide you with a variety of functions in a single app.

Since you want to clear up space on your Mac, we will focus on the Cleaner module of iMyMac PowerMyMac. In this module, you can clean out unwanted system files, photo cache, email downloads and attachments, similar photos, iTunes backups, and installation packages as well as outdated or large files. With this selective feature, you no longer need to worry about wrongly deleting other essential files.

You can utilize any of the tools in the Cleaner module by PowerMyMac. Let us take a close look on the steps when using the System Junk tool.

1. Check the status of your Mac. Open the program and assess the system status on the main interface. Status
2. Click on the “Cleaner” button and you will see “System Junk” Clean
3. Tap on “System Junk” and begin a scan of the System Cache, Application Cache and other associated junks on your mac. The scanning progress can be seen in the left circle. System Junk Scanning
4. Once the scan is completed, you can view the results. System Junk Scan Done
5. At this point, choose the system files that you want to remove. System Junk Application Cache
6. Tap on the “Clean” button to get rid of the system junk files on your Mac. In some cases, it is needed to key in your password.
System Junk Sytem Log Deleteing
7. Click on “Confirm” after you tap on “Clean”. Simply wait for the cleaning process to finish.

System Junk System Log Delete

It is a quick and simple process to remove any system junk files from your device. Remember that the same steps are applicable to the other tools in the Cleaner module of PowerMyMac.

Aside from the other methods on how to make room on Mac, using iMyMac PowerMyMac is an efficient approach. With just a few clicks on your mouse and the straightforward steps, you can free up space on your device in a hassle-free manner.

Part 3. More Measures on How to Make Room on Mac

If you want to avoid the “Startup Disk Full” message, there are ways on how to make room on Mac that you should be familiar with.

1. Empty the Trash

One simple way on how to make room on Mac is to simply empty the Trash on your device. When you delete files, they are sent to the Trash so you have the option to restore them later in case you changed your mind.

You can completely remove these files to free up space by emptying the Trash. In some Macs, they have several trash cans, thus you must empty several of them.

When emptying the main Trash in your account, simply click on CTRL+click or right-click on the Trash icon at the right bottom part of the dock and select the “Empty Trash” option. This will remove all the files that you sent to the trash from the Finder.

iMovie, iPhoto, and Mail have their separate trash cans. In case you removed media files from inside these applications, you can empty their trash cans.

2. Remove unused applications

The applications present on your Mac are also taking up space. Any applications that you no longer use must be removed to free up space.

Simply open a Finder window, choose the applications you want to remove in the sidebar and drag-and-drop the icon of the app to the Trash on the dock. Remember that some unused applications might be eating up a lot of precious space.

If you want to check which applications are taking up most of the space on your Mac, open a Finder window and choose Applications. Tap on the “Show items in a list” icon on the toolbar and click on the Size heading which will sort out the installed applications based on their size.

3. Get rid of old iOS backups

The backups of your iOS can take up a lot of space. If you want to find and remove them, follow these steps:

  • Open Finder
  • Tap on “Go” in the menu and select “Go to Folder…”
  • Key in ~/Library/Application Support/MobileSync/Backup/

This will remove all the old, outdated backups on your Mac that has been eating up precious disk space.

4. Remove old iTunes Library backups

Every time you update iTunes, the recent versions of the app creates backups of the library. You can remove these old iTunes Library backups with the following steps:

  • Open Finder
  • Tap on “Go” in the menu at the left upper part of the screen.
  • Select “Go to Folder” and key in ~/Music/iTunes/Previous iTunes Libraries

Remember that they are all dated and simply remove the old ones that you no longer need.

5. Clearing up the cache

A cache file is a temporary data file that has been created by browsers, apps, and other programs to allow your Mac to function faster. When removing cache files, they are recreated the next time the app is used. Nevertheless, some apps that you are no longer using still have leftovers in the Cache folder and takes up a lot of space. It is recommended to clear the cache every now and then.

The cache files are usually stored in the Library folders that you can find in the following locations:

  • /Library/Caches
  • ~/Library/Caches

In the /Library/Caches, you can find the temporary files that were created by the system. Generally, these files do not use up a lot of space. However, in the ~/Library/Caches folder, there are many junk files that were created when using applications. As a result, this folder will increase in size over time.

If you want to access these files, simply open the Finder window. Click on Go > Go to Folder on the menu. Key in ~Library/Cache in the dialog box and click Go.

6. Get rid of logs

Once you open the Library folder, you will also find another type of temporary file – Log files. These files are stored in the Logs folder. Just make sure that before removing the logs of the system, mobile devices, and apps, you no longer need them anymore.

7. Remove mail downloads

If you are using the standard macOS Mail app, every time you view the email attachments, the system saves them to a separate folder on your hard drive. In the long run, the size of this folder can increase up to several GB.

The simplest way to find this folder is to search for it using Spotlight. Simply key in “Mail Downloads” in the search field. In case this method failed to work, an alternative is to open the Finder > tap on Shift+CMD+G key shortcut and key in ~/Library/Containers/com.apple.mail/Data/Library/Mail in the search field. Once open, check the files and save those that you need or delete them all.

8. Remove duplicate files

Over time, you might have created copies of documents or download files twice and forgot about them. Essentially, duplicate files can take up disk space on your Mac. Searching for duplicate files manually can be a long and burdensome process.

You can easily find duplicate media files in the iTunes Library though with the following steps:

  • Open iTunes
  • Tap on File in the menu
  • Select Library > Show Duplicate Items

iTunes will provide you with a list of duplicates. You can check the list and get rid of any duplicates.

Sadly, for other duplicate files, you are required to check for each folder individually that can take a long time.

9. Turn off apps running in the background

Switching off applications that have been open for several days or longer or restarting your Mac on a regular basis can help free up disk space.

It is important to note that applications create temporary files to store data. If these apps are left to run without closing them, these files will continue to grow. Once you turn off an app, the cache files are removed and the disk space is restored.  

10. Cleaning up your photo library

Photos have always been the culprit when it comes to eating up precious disk space. The initial move on how to make room on Mac is to choose only those that you want to eliminate such as duplicates or those that were mistakenly taken.

Once your own files are dealt with, the next step is to remove files that your system created. In Photos for Mac, it is the cache files. The Photos cache files also include the iCloud local copies, Faces cache, and other app-related caches. You might be surprised by the amount of space that these take up especially if you regularly use Photos. If you are using OS versions prior to the macOS Sierra, here are the steps to find the cache:

  • Open Finder and go to the Photos library
  • CTRL+click the Photos library and chose “Show Package Contents” option.
  • Access resources and click on model resource

At this point, you will see several folders in the Finder. The cache of Photos are usually present in these folders but it can be tricky to figure out which ones are safe to remove and what to retain. Remember that if you delete the wrong file, it can disrupt the overall performance of Photos.