使用全新的外置硬盤或閃存盤時,通過將驅動器格式化為Mac OS Extended文件系統來確保兼容性至關重要。 從本質上講,對於使用預先格式化為Windows兼容的通用PC驅動器的用戶而言,對於Mac OS來說至關重要。

將外部硬盤驅動器或USB閃存盤連接到Mac通常可以正常工作,因為Mac OS可以輕鬆破譯其他類型的文件系統格式,包括FAT,Windows MS-DOS,FAT32,NTFS和ExFAT格式。

重要的是要注意格式化為FAT32的驅動器可以由Mac OS讀取和寫入,但它不被認為是最佳的,從長遠來看,您可能會遇到問題。 如果您的USB驅動器格式化為FAT 32或Mac OS Extended(HFS +)或APFS以外的任何其他格式,則最好格式化驅動器。

除非您計劃在Windows和Mac之間使用驅動器,否則建議在Mac兼容的文件系統上完全格式化。 如果你想學習 如何在Mac上格式化USB,步驟相對容易。

TIPS:

有關如何在Mac上格式化USB的步驟

您可以輕鬆地開展工作 如何在Mac上格式化USB。 對於所有類型的驅動器和所有連接,它可以以相同的方式實現。 通常,格式化驅動器將刪除磁盤上存在的所有數據和任何分區。

  1. 將硬盤驅動器或USB連接到Mac
  2. 打開“磁盤工具”,您可以在“應用程序”>“實用程序”
  3. 從“磁盤工具”的左側找到驅動器名稱,然後點擊它
  4. 點擊頂部可以找到的“刪除”標籤
  5. 在“格式”選項旁邊,點擊上下文菜單,然後選擇“Mac OS Extended(Journaled)”
  6. 提供驅動器所需的名稱。 你可以隨時改變。
  7. 點擊“擦除”並在彈出的下一個窗口再次授權

步驟 如何在Mac上格式化USB 相對容易。 您的USB驅動器現在將格式化並擦除其上的所有內容。

較小的外部硬盤驅動器,如USB閃存鍵和SSD的格式很快,而更大的驅動器可能需要更長的時間。 格式化完成後,驅動器將格式化為Mac OS兼容的文件系統。
如何格式化USB ON Mac

獎金提示!

雖然忍不住了 在Mac上格式化USB,iMyMac PowerMyMac工具包模塊中的NTFS工具可以幫助讀取和寫入已在Windows下格式化的SSD,HDD或閃存驅動器中的文件。

順便說一下,iMyMac PowerMyMac是一款適用於Mac的全能軟件,可為您提供各種維護和優化工具。

讓我們仔細看看如何在iMyMac PowerMyMac中使用NTFS工具的步驟。

  1. 您將在PowerMyMac的ToolKit模塊中找到NTFS工具。 只需點擊ToolKit並選擇NTFS即可。
  2. 在NTFS的界面上,點擊“寫入”按鈕,開始復制,編輯或刪除或啟動文件的其他說明,這些說明來自SSD,HDD或Mac上Windows格式化的閃存驅動器。 如果屏幕上出現顯示“失敗”的彈出窗口,則必須先安裝NTFS-3G和Osxfuse,然後才能使用該工具。
  3. 左側將為您提供USB信息,而右側列出USB中的文件和文件夾。 此時,您必須將其中一個文件從USB移動到上部空白站點。
  4. 點擊“寫入”按鈕,您拖動的文件將在USB中傳輸。 一旦所選文件在站點中消失或顯示消息,則完成寫入過程。 此外,您還會發現USB的圖標與插入Mac時的圖標不同。 這也是成功寫作的標誌。
  5. 寫完後,點擊“卸載”按鈕,以便從Mac上移除USB。
USB

什麼是理想的格式?

如果您使用的是具有High Sierra OS或更高版本的Mac,您可以選擇2選項作為文件格式 - APFS以及Mac OS Extended。 要記住的重要一點是,格式化為APFS的磁盤將無法被操作系統版本高於High Sierra的Mac識別。 如果您認為需要將USB驅動器插入運行在舊版本上的Mac,則必須將其格式化為Mac OS Extended。

通常,APFS針對包括閃存驅動器的SSD(固態驅動器)進行調整。 如果要在Mac上的閃存驅動器上啟動重新格式化過程,則必須選擇APFS。 至於硬盤驅動器,APFS比Mac OS Extended相對更快,更可靠。

最後,如果您計劃將USB驅動器用作Time Machine備份的站點,則應選擇Mac OS Extended。 請務必注意,Time Machine不會備份到APFS格式的磁盤,如果您選擇使用Time Machine,它可以重新格式化為Mac OS Extended格式。 此外,您可以將APFS格式的磁盤備份到Mac OS Extended Time Machine驅動器。什麼是理想的格式

文件格式的類型

  • OS X Extended(Journaled)。標準但僅在Mac上兼容。 它也被稱為HFS +,對於打算將驅動器用於Time Machine備份的人來說是必需的。
  • OS X Extended(區分大小寫,日記)。對於特定的文件系統,重要的是要注意“文件”與“文件”不同。 在默認設置下, 的Mac OS X 沒有使用特定的系統。 請記住,選擇是可用的,因為它與UNIX的過時性能相匹配。 此外,一些人仍然喜歡使用它。
  • OS X Extended(Journaled,Encrypted)。與“標準OS X Extended”相同,但增加了加密。 您需要輸入密碼。 每次將驅動器連接到Mac時都必須輸入此密碼。
  • OS X Extended(區分大小寫,日記,加密)。與“標準OS X Extended”類似,但具有附加加密功能。
  • MS-DOS(FAT)。 一個非常適應的選擇還有其局限性。 每個文件應為4GB。 除非您的設備需要FAT32,否則不建議使用此文件系統。
  • 這是舊的FAT文件系統的兼容選擇,但它也有缺點。 如果您要與Windows PC或其他設​​備(如Xbox One或PlayStation 4控制台)共享驅動器,這是理想的文件系統。 通常,它是完美的多平台文件系統。 它本身不支持多種Linux變體,但您可以選擇在Linux上安裝ExFAT支持。

如何在Mac上將USB驅動器格式化為FAT32?

如果你想學習 如何在Mac上格式化USB,特別是對於Mac上的FAT32,原因是能夠在Windows PC和Mac上使用該驅動器。 您可能還計劃將該驅動器用作媒體播放器的存儲空間,或者在具有內置USB端口的電視上錄製電視節目。

請記住,可以在Mac和Windows上讀取和寫入FAT32。 這使它成為一種多功能選擇。 不過,您應該注意一個限制 - 每個文件的最大大小為4GB。 如果您使用USB驅動器存儲大型視頻文件,這將是一個問題。

解決方案是ExFAT,它沒有最大文件限制。 另一個優點是它可以在Mac OS X Snow Leopard或更高版本以及Windows上運行的任何Mac上讀取和寫入。

如果你想學習 如何在Mac上格式化USB 在FAT32或ExFAT中,請按照下列步驟操作:

  1. 將USB驅動器連接到Mac
  2. 繼續執行Applications> Utilities並打開“磁盤工具”
  3. 點擊“磁盤工具”側欄中的USB驅動器
  4. 點擊“磁盤工具”中的“擦除”
  5. 鍵入新格式化磁盤的名稱
  6. 點擊格式菜單,並在MS-DOS(FAT32)或ExFAT之間決定
  7. 點按“刪除”

此時,USB驅動器將被清除並格式化為ExFAT或FAT32,它基於您將選擇的格式。
如何在Mac上格式化USB驅動器到FAT32

如何以簡單的方式管理您的驅動器?

通過簡單的步驟 如何在Mac上格式化USB,您可以使用“磁盤工具”輕鬆完成此任務。 但請記住,當您決定格式化磁盤時,您將根除存儲在其上的所有數據。 如果您仍需要該數據以供將來使用,則必須在開始之前在其他磁盤上創建副本。

此外,有幾種格式可供選擇,每種格式都有自己的優點和缺點。

這是一個包裝!

有幾種方法 如何在Mac上格式化USB。 您可以使用上述方法使該過程成為一項簡單的任務。 使用PowerMyMac中的NTFS工具,它也是您可以使用的另一種有效方法。

When using a brand new external hard drive or flash disk, it is vital to ensure compatibility by formatting the drive to the Mac OS Extended filesystem. Essentially, it is vital for those who are using generic PC drives which are pre-formatted to be Windows compatible instead for the Mac OS.

Linking an external hard drive or USB flash disk to a Mac usually works fine since the Mac OS can easily decipher other types of filesystem formats including FAT, Windows MS-DOS, FAT32, NTFS and ExFAT formats.

It is important to note that drives formatted as FAT32 can be read from and written to by a Mac OS, but it is not considered optimal and you might face issues in the long run. If you have a USB drive formatted as FAT 32 or any other format other than the Mac OS Extended (HFS+) or APFS, it is best to format the drive.

Unless you are planning on utilizing the drive between a Windows and Mac, it is recommended to format it entirely on a Mac compatible filesystem. If you want to learn how to format USB on Mac, the steps are relatively easy to do.

TIPS:

Article GuideSteps on How to Format USB on MacWhat Is The Ideal Format?How to Format A USB Drive to FAT32 on Mac?How to Manage Your Drives in A Simple Manner?It's A Wrap!

Steps on How to Format USB on Mac

You can easily work your way on how to format USB on Mac. It can be achieved in the same manner for all types of drives and through all connections. Generally, formatting a drive will remove all data and any partitions present on the disk.

  1. Link the hard drive or USB to your Mac
  2. Open Disk Utility that you can find in Applications > Utilities
  3. Find the drive name from the left side of Disk Utility and tap on it
  4. Tap on the “Erase” tab that you can find across the top
  5. Just next to the “Format” option, tap on the contextual menu and choose “Mac OS Extended (Journaled)”
  6. Provide a name that you want for the drive. You can change at any point.
  7. Tap on “Erase” and authorize again on the next window that will pop up

The steps on how to format USB on Mac is relatively easy. Your USB drive will now format and erase everything on it.

The smaller external hard drives such as USB flash keys and SSD’s format quickly while a bigger drive might take a longer time. Once the formatting is completed, the drive is formatted to the Mac OS compatible filesystem.
How To Format USB ON Mac

Bonus Tip!

Though couldn’t help format USB on Mac, the NTFS tool in the Toolkit module of iMyMac PowerMyMac can help read and write files from SSD, HDD or a flash drive that has been formatted under Windows.

By the way, iMyMac PowerMyMac is an all-around software for Mac that provides you with a variety of tools for maintenance and optimization.

Free Download

Let us take a close look at the steps on how to use NTFS tool in iMyMac PowerMyMac.

  1. You will find the NTFS tool in the ToolKit module of PowerMyMac. Simply tap on the ToolKit and pick NTFS.
  2. On the interface of NTFS, tap on the “Write” button to start to copy, edit or delete or initiate other instructions on your files from SSD, HDD or a flash drive that has been formatted under Windows on your Mac. In case a pop-up window that shows “Fail” appears on the screen, you must install NTFS – 3G, and Osxfuse before you can utilize the tool.
  3. You will be provided with USB information on the left side while the files and folders in the USB are listed on the right column. At this point, you must move one of the files from the USB to the upper blank site.
  4. Tap on the “Write” button and the file that you dragged is being transferred in your USB. Once the chosen file disappears in the site or a message shows up, the process to write is finished. Furthermore, you will also find the icon of your USB different from the moment when it was inserted into your Mac. It is also an indication of successful writing.
  5. Once the writing is finished, tap on the “Unmount” button so that you can remove your USB from your Mac.
Usb

What Is The Ideal Format?

In case you are using a Mac with High Sierra OS or later, you can choose between 2 options as file formats – APFS as well as the Mac OS Extended. The vital point to remember is that disks formatted as APFS will not be recognized by Macs that have OS versions older than High Sierra. If you think there is a need to plug the USB drive into a Mac running on an older version, it must be formatted as Mac OS Extended.

Generally, APFS is adjusted for SSD (solid state drive) which includes flash drives. If you want to start a reformat process on a flash drive on a Mac, you must select APFS. As for hard drives, APFS is relatively faster and more dependable than Mac OS Extended.

Lastly, if you are planning to use the USB drive as a site for Time Machine backups, you should choose Mac OS Extended. It is important to note that Time Machine will not back up to an APFS-formatted disk and if you will choose one to be used with Time Machine, it offers to reformat in the Mac OS Extended format. In addition, you can back up a disk formatted in APFS to a Mac OS Extended Time Machine drive.What Is The Ideal Format

Types of file formats

  • OS X Extended (Journaled).The standard but only compatible on Macs. It is also called as HFS+ and necessary for those who intend to use the drive for Time Machine backups.
  • OS X Extended (Case-sensitive, Journaled).For a specific file system, it is important to note that “file” is distinct from “File”. On the default setting, the Mac OS X does not utilize a specific system. Remember that the selection is available since it matches with the outdated performance of UNIX. Furthermore, some individuals still prefer to use it.
  • OS X Extended (Journaled, Encrypted).The same as the “standard OS X Extended”, but with added encryption. You are required to key in a password. This password must be entered every time you connect your drive to your Mac.
  • OS X Extended (Case-sensitive, Journaled, Encrypted).Similar with the “standard OS X Extended” but with the additional encryption feature.
  • MS-DOS (FAT). A highly well-attuned option yet has its share of limitations. Each file should be 4GB. This file system is not suggested unless you have a device that requires FAT32.
  • This is a compatible choice as older FAT file systems, but it has also drawbacks. This is the ideal file system if you are going to share the drive with Windows PCs or other devices such as Xbox One or PlayStation 4 consoles. Generally, it is the perfect multi-platform file system. It is not supported natively on several Linux variants but you have the option to install the ExFAT support on Linux.

How to Format A USB Drive to FAT32 on Mac?

If you want to learn how to format USB on Mac, specifically to FAT32 on Mac, the reason is to be able to use the drive on both Windows PC and on Mac. You might also be planning to use the drive as a storage for a media player or to record TV shows on a TV with a built-in USB port.

Remember that FAT32 can be read and written to on both Mac and Windows. This makes it a versatile option. Nevertheless, there is a limitation that you should be aware of – each file has a maximum size of 4GB. This is going to be an issue if you are using the USB drive to store large video files.

The solution is ExFAT where it does not have a maximum file limit. Another advantage is that it can be read from and written to on any Mac that runs on Mac OS X Snow Leopard or later and on Windows.

If you want to learn how to format USB on Mac in FAT32 or ExFAT, follow these steps:

  1. Attach the USB drive into your Mac
  2. Proceed to Applications > Utilities and open Disk Utility
  3. Tap on the USB drive that you will find in the sidebar in Disk Utility
  4. Tap on “Erase” in the Disk Utility
  5. Key in a name for the newly formatted disk
  6. Tap on the Format menu and decide between MS-DOS (FAT32) or ExFAT
  7. Tap on “Erase”

At this point, the USB drive is wiped out and formatted as either ExFAT or FAT32 which is based on the format that you will select.
How To Format A USB Drive To FAT32 On Mac

How to Manage Your Drives in A Simple Manner?

With the simple steps on how to format USB on Mac, you can easily finish this task using Disk Utility. Remember though that when you decide to format the disk, you will eradicate all the data stored on it. In case you still require that data for future use, you must create a copy on a different disk before you start.

Furthermore, there are several formats to select from and each has its own advantages and drawbacks.

It's A Wrap!

There are several ways on how to format USB on Mac. You can utilize the methods above to make the process a simple task. With the NTFS tool in PowerMyMac, it is also another efficient approach that you can utilize.

Free Download